Notice of Election

The Kiwifruit New Zealand Board consists of four Directors and one Chairperson. Three Directors are elected by kiwifruit producers for a three year term, of which one Director retires each year in rotation.
This year Andrew Fenton’s three year term expires in September and he is standing for re-election.
A Notice of Election was posted to all producers on 5 July 2017.  If you believe you are eligible to vote in the election, and did not receive a Notice of Election, please contact Kiwifruit New Zealand by phoning 07 572 3685 or by email, at
Nomination forms are available from Kiwifruit New Zealand, P O Box 4683, Mt Maunganui South 3149.  Where there is more than one nomination, an election will take place.  Voting is by post. The candidate receiving the most votes will take office for a three-year term, effective from 1 October 2017.  The timetable is as follows:
Nominations open 31 July 2017
Nominations close 14 August 2017
Voting papers posted to Growers 31 August 2017
Voting opens 4 September 2017
Voting closes 18 September 2017
Results announced 19 September 2017
Newly elected Director to take office 1 October 2017
The Regulations create KNZ as a Body Corporate of five Members (a Chair and four others) who serve for three year terms. Producers elect three members, and the fourth member is appointed by the New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated. The Chair is appointed by the other four Members, and is required to be fully independent of the kiwifruit industry.

Producers (owners of land in New Zealand on which kiwifruit is produced for export sale) are eligible to vote in elections to appoint the three Producer elected members, and an election is held each year to elect a member by rotation. Candidates are nominated by Producers, and there is no restriction on who may be nominated.

The KNZ Board generally meets monthly, from February to November inclusive. The Directors also consider and approve collaborative marketing applications and this can consist of KNZ only meetings, hearings and review committees.